Hessien – Obelisk|Stelea

Limited to 200 copies for the world. Fluid Audio and Handstitched* have joined forces to release an EP by Hessien entitled “Obelisk|Stelea” including exclusive reworking of the original source material by Solo Andata, Jasper TX, Zelienople and Konntinent…

Surprising astrologists everywhere, Hessien continue to generate spontaneously out of the ether near the equator, somewhere between Australia and the UK. The most recent occurrence being “Obelisk|Stelea”, constructed in between the north-south divide.

“Obelisk” – as Hessien’s landscape evolves, the sound continues to push into an environment littered with obstacles. Although not obvious at first, there is a relationship between these objects; a focus on submerged, hazy rhythms and textures that mirror the unconventional landscapes and surrounds. Prominent on this release is the human voice, represented in snatches of field recordings and overheard conversations, including vocals contributed by Jane Williams. Acoustic tones continue to underpin the tactile electronic arrangements – loops, delays, e-bow, cello, pedals, creaking furniture and low-fi hiss rearing up then dropping away as quickly as they came.

“Stelea” – these four pieces have been intercepted in various states of formation by – Solo Andata – combining distant parts of the original composition with their faultless signature sequences, unmistakable and balanced.

The ever-prolific Jasper TX – weaving his acoustical, drone-style magic into the mix, floating into a territory with a never-ending haze as the backdrop.

Zelienople – an open-handed reinterpretation shines and guides the way forward with acoustic/prog interestingness, flowing with a staccato pulse.

And finally, Konntinent – transporting the listener into an irregular, avant-garde-like version, fuzzed-up, resampled and re-routed via a tape deck.

All four reworks have been broken down, inspected, and then put back together. Four pieces becoming eight tales of dislocation, separation and musical connectivity. Hessien and the four remixers conspire a bizarre plot and an equally bizarre, larger-than-life conclusion.

Packaged in letter pressed covers that slip nicely into organic silk screened cotton pouches, this Handstitched* /Fluid Audio split release is limited to 200 copies. An 8-page full colour booklet containing exclusive images and 4 specially commissioned poems by Estela Lamat, themed around the 4 original songs by Hessien, also accompanies the release.

Songs 1-4 produced by Hessien (Charles Sage & Tim Diagram) 2010. Recorded on location in Queanbeyan, Australia and Cambridgshire, UK. Songs 5-8 remixed by Jasper TX, Solo Andata, Zelienople and Konntinent.


11 responses to “Hessien – Obelisk|Stelea”

  1. Iceblink says:

    I’m looking forward to this :))

  2. Excellent, didn’t even see this appear here. Another rare gem to vie for.

  3. admin says:

    Not long now Ross.
    2/3 weeks tops 🙂

  4. […] out more info and some super-cool images of “Obelisk|Stelea” at Fluid Audio and listen to short samples from the release…. [soundcloud […]

  5. Alice says:

    Just got my pre-order in 🙂
    Thanks so much for doing this for the subscribers x

  6. […] To check out more info, some super-cool images and short audio samples of “Obelisk|Stelea” visit Fluid Audio […]

  7. Alice says:

    Got my copy through the post a few days ago.
    This is delighful.
    Thank you, Thank you, Thank you xxx

  8. […] the Chilean poet I translate, has contributed four new poems in English to Hessien’s EP “Obelisk|Stelea,” which was just released this month by Fluid Audio and Handstitched*.  This limited edition (200 […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *